Skip to content

Topsy Turvy Tuesday: Carpet cleaning tips & More

November 9, 2010

Since moving in here, we’ve had a few spots that come with people coming in and out and moving things about.

I’d been avoiding the cleaning. (Who doesn’t at times?!) I had visions of cleaning, rubbing, scrubbing and STILL needing a steam cleaner.  But then the heavens opened up, angels sang, and my mothers voice told me to use a 50/50 peroxide/water mix!

Well, really it was just my mom telling me that. No angels singing…

Thank goodness for smart Moms!

I actually mixed it 40/60, because I wasn’t paying attention! Also, you need to have a sprayer of some sort, or you’ll use a lot of paper towels or wash cloths  soaking up your mess! (I’m telling on myself here).

But soak the area, rub and scrub. Not too hard! Then blot it dry, and voila! No more stains! I have NOT a clue as to what the stains were so I can’t tell you who the culprit was, er WHAT the culprit was!

I love having a clean carpet, but living out here in the boonies, surviving the gail force winds and triumphing over the tumbleweeds…we get a lot of stuff mucked into the house.  So it’s a battle to have a nice floor, be it carpet or fake wood or tiles.

But nothing a little water, peroxide, vinegar, towels and some elbow grease can’t solve!

Oh yes. I’m also thinking of instating a No Shoes Allowed rule. Just warning sayin…

Here are a few other tips I’ve found. If you have tried them please let me know how they worked for you, or didn’t. Also, if you have some tips PLEASE share them! (I’m looking for non-toxic ways to clean, so please no commercial products unless they are toxin free, thank you!)

* Seventh Generation has a line of green, non-toxic cleaning products. I use their laundry soap, dishwasher soap and fabric softener. I love that it doesn’t have a smell! They also have an all purpose cleaner that is on my list to get when we run out of our current all purpose.

*Add 4 tablespoons baking soda to 1 quart warm water for a nontoxic, all-purpose cleanser that can be used to scrub counter-tops.

* To make windows sparkle, spritz glass with a solution of 3 tablespoons white vinegar and 1 gallon cool water. Avoid streaks by wiping panes with newsprint.

*Table salt is all you need to remove baked-on food from inside the oven. Cover the area with salt while the oven is still warm. After it cools, scrape the food away and wipe with a damp sponge.

*Blood Stains You can easily remove blood stain from your clothes using hydrogen peroxide. Just saturate, then blot and repeat if necessary.

Microwave Cut a lemon in half and put it inside a bowl filled with 1 cup of water in the microwave. Microwave the lemon and water for one minute, then let stand for five. The steam and oils of the lemon will make it easy to clean and remove any odors.

 

Okay! So does that make you want to go clean? It does for me! Most of us usually have many of these items in our house already! Start by trying one thing, and go from there.

Happy cleaning, y’all!

 

In His hands,

Peg

Remember, I love getting tips from you so leave a comment! Thanks!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 2:08 pm

    Great post! Thank you for sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

