Skip to content

31 Day’s of Thanks – The Beginning!

October 1, 2010

As you might guess, I’ve been dreading October for awhile now.  If I had my way, I would have slept thru it, starting at midnight last night.  Before Michael passed away, I was prepared to love October and change my whole outlook on it. I’m not a big fan of Halloween and never was.  But it was the month which gave me my son, so a bit of forgiveness wasn’t too much to ask of me.   However…March 11th happened. The rest is history now.

I woke up this morning, full of grumpiness. I even posted about it on Facebook.  Then I was reminded every choice I make in my journey through grief is an active one.  One which is made with every breathe I take and every step through life.  So I changed my mind, or as least made an effort to put an action in place to change my mind.

When November rolls around, everyone talks a lot about what they are thankful for.  I have decided to start mine, one month early this year.  Instead of allowing the pity party to take hold and make this month more misery, I plan to find at least ONE thing each day in with to be thankful for.  I will blog in depth about them and continue to post them on Facebook and Twitter.  I’m SO in the hip-ness! 😉

This month would have been one for celebration, happiness and fun.  I will not let the heaviness of grief over shadow God’s plan, nor does it make sense to me to not celebrate still in some small way the life of my son. So October is Michael’s month. I choose to celebrate his life, by being thankful for mine and everything in it. This is how I’m choosing to remember him this year. This is how I’m choosing to listen to Christ’s soft nudgings in my heart.

I would ask that you join me in remembering his life by remembering what you’re thankful for. You can either post it to each of my blogs, journal privately or post it on Facebook for all to see.  I pray this journey helps heal what is hurting and opens our hearts to the small pleasures and nuggets of treasures which have been placed in our lives.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheri permalink
    October 1, 2010 7:35 pm

    I’m thankful for every day…every MOMENT I still have with my children.

  2. October 2, 2010 9:31 pm

    hello!This was a really exceptional theme!
    I come from uk, I was luck to look for your theme in wordpress
    Also I obtain a lot in your website really thank your very much i will come daily

Trackbacks

  1. Day 2 – Heating pads and scented candles « SIDS Mom 2 Mickey

Leave a Reply

