Skip to content

Peace, is it real?

September 4, 2010

Websters dictionary says this about peace, “a state of tranquility or quiet, freedom from disquieting or oppressive thoughts or emotions”

The Hebrew definition of peace, “Hebrew root slm, which means “to be complete” or “to be sound.” The verb conveys both a dynamic and a static meaning “to be complete or whole” or “to live well.”

I would rather have the peace from God, than this worlds peace. God does not change, He is always faithful to His promises.  That means that He is more reliable than anything on this earth, including me.  His form of peace doesn’t rest on anything earthly, it doesn’t even rest on my acceptance of it, or not.

John 14:27, “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”

I hold on to this like a life raft. It IS my life raft right now.

If I am to believe God, like I profess, I can not pick what to believe and discard the rest. If I believe He died for me, then I need to believe that He does all things (and I mean ALL THINGS) for my good.  If I believe that He sent His son to die for me, then I must believe that ALL things are according to His purpose.  If I believe that His is God, then I must believe He is faithful to provide what I need.

If I believe, I must believe it all.  There is no middle ground with Him, no half faith or easy road to walk.

I guess it’s time to strap on my boots, wipe my tears, stand up, pick up His cross, and truly follow Him.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

