Skip to content

Strong like a brick, or strong like a wheat stalk?

August 25, 2010

If you know me, and have spoken to me since the death of my son, you know that I DO NOT believe that I am strong, or brave, or any of those other ones. I just survive because I have no choice. If, along this journey, I inspire, I encourage, I can only hope that at some point, I’ve given back what I’ve received through these last months in way of support and love.

“Fire is the test of gold; adversity, of strong men.” Seneca

Let me tell you, fire and adversity, they are very good was to describe each other. A fire can only burn to hot for so long, before the fuel is gone, and the fire dies out. My pain can only be this intense for so long, before somehow, the intensity goes away.  I don’t think it goes away completely, in fact I know it doesn’t. So that is were the comparison ends.

“The quality of strength lined with tenderness is an unbeatable combination, as are intelligence and necessity when unblunted by formal education.” Maya Angelou



2 Comments leave one →
  1. Johnna Joseph permalink
    August 25, 2010 12:40 pm

    To turn iron into steel you have to melt it, mold it and beat it senseless, but in the end it comes out stronger than before. God is the blacksmith of our lives and when we think he is weakening us he is only making us greater. It may not soften the blows in the moment but it can help us soldier through.

Leave a Reply

