Skip to content

What is this I know see?

July 21, 2010

What is this I know see before me?

Who comes to my house, so dark and deadly?

What manner of person are you, to come thus so?

You enter my house and sneak into my babies room.

You watch him sleep, a gentle rise and fall of his sweet breath.

What made you think he was the perfect one to take?

Was it his age?

Was it his steel blue eyes?

Tell me, Death, what made you take my son that day?

What enticed you to crawl into bed, and take his last breath?

What delight did you get from skin so pink, now so blue?

What evil heart you must have to steal his last heartbeat.

Do you not know that his breath and heart beat was for us?

Do you think you know better than we, his parents?

Tell me, Death…did he suffer?

Did he panic, and wonder where we were?

Did you at least give him a peaceful slide into eternity?

Did his last breath come easy, and soft?

Did he just dream himself up to Heaven?

Tell me…tell me…why him…why us…why that way?

What do we do now?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 6:20 am

    Your questions of death are powerful and painful. I’m so sorry. Peace.

Leave a Reply

