Skip to content

To Be a Mother

May 6, 2010

Motherhood has a very humanizing effect. Everything gets reduced to essentials.
Meryl Streep

Motherhood: All love begins and ends there.
Robert Browning

Sometimes the strength of motherhood is greater than natural laws.
Barbara Kingsolver

motherhood in German is Mutterschaft
motherhood in Spanish is maternidad
motherhood in Swedish is moderskap

Being a full-time mother is one of the highest salaried jobs in my field, since the payment is pure love. ~Mildred B. Vermont

An ounce of mother is worth a pound of clergy. ~Spanish Proverb

When you are a mother, you are never really alone in your thoughts. A mother always has to think twice, once for herself and once for her child. ~Sophia Loren, Women and Beauty

A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden, fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends who rejoice with us in our sunshine desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts. ~Washington Irving

“A mother understands what a child does not say.” -Jewish proverb

To be a mother, the best gift in the world.
To be a mother, the truest love exists.
To be a mother, my arms are fulfilled.
To be a mother, my joys are endless.
To be a mother…I will never forget my child.

Michael, you made me a mother.
You made me see that I was a mother all along
You helped me open my arms for others.
You gave me the gift of motherhood, which lasts until my death.
You helped me see what blessings really are, what gifts really matter.

I love you, I will always miss you.
Sometimes, when I miss you, it hurts mommy’s heart a lot.
Sometimes, I can’t breath through the pain and hurt.
But then a new day dawns, and our heavenly Father gives me strength.
He holds me up, when I can’t walk, or talk.
He’s holding you for me, giving you a new body, free of disease, pain, suffering.
Sometimes, little man, I think you have it much better than I! You little stinker! 🙂

Thank you Father God, for letting me know my sweet little monkey toes. Thank you for giving me those sweet, precious, difficult, trying and wonderful 5 months with Michael. Help my memories not to fade. Help me to live life as You would want me too. Help me to honor and obey You, in all ways, through all things, and always with love.

Thank you Michael, for allowing me to know you, hold you, love you and learn from you. Those things learned, will not be forgotten. Rest in sweet peaceful rest, praise God by using all your gifts.

To all the mothers out there, wither you have a child in womb, out of womb, at home with you, or empty nest, wither you have held your child or your arms are bare…
Have a happy Mother’s Day. Hold tight to the things that matter. Remember to stop, and smell the roses.
Look up to see the cloud animals.
Enjoy the simple and the complex wonders of God’s world.
Give praise through the joy and pain, for the pain will pass, each day is a new day.


3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 2:27 pm

    Peggy you brought tears to my eyes and heart. You are an amazing woman and this mothers day remember that you are a mother and always will be to Michael. He will follow you in your heart, soul and dreams every day. And this mothers day will be bitter sweet with the memories of his short but incredible life. God bless youJacki

  2. May 7, 2010 1:54 am

    Wonderful. What pain you have endured has helped me appreciate mine so much more. I love that line: Look up and see the cloud animals!

  3. May 7, 2010 2:32 am

    I just got up and gave Jayson a kiss after that! Through you I've learned how truely lucky I am, I knew before but now I TRUELY know the gift I've been given! I love you Peggy!

Leave a Reply

